top of page
Search

1 Down 4 To Go

QUICK REMINDER: Please send us a picture of any light colored blue top that you have! ASAP.


We successfully have finished our first filming day, we have four more to go. Now we know sort of what to expect the next time, and we know how to make everything flow more naturally. For our next filming day we will attempt to have a strict schedule set for each number and piece, so we can better manage time and ensure rest time. However, this means that everyone must arrive on time and ready to go at start time which has been set to 9:00 each time we film. We must all be in time to ensure that we can stay to the schedule. If we all do our part I'm sure we can become recording masters.

 

I'd like to thank you all for all your hard work and dedication to this program, you have all been working really hard in and out of rehearsals which is vital for a program like this to work. I'm hopeful for it to continue running smoothly, but please don't let your guard down, practice, practice, and practice some more.

 

We have had to change some of our filming dates due to the Melodrama starting up soon, conflicting schedules, and holidays. These are the new dates along with what will be recorded each day. Please read thoroughly and contact us ASAP if any dates do not work.


July 11th 9:00-12:30

Company Performance: Found/Tonight

Spotlight Performance: “Beyond My Wildest Dreams” Sariah Alldredge

Monologues: Ian, Maggie

Pantomime: Emma


August 1st 9:00-12:30

Company Performance: Money, Money, Money

Spotlight Performance: “Somethings Are Meant To Be” Emma Parkin, Maggie Fisher

Monologues: Porter, Sariah, Erika


August 8th 9:00-12:30

Company Performance: If Only You Would Listen

Spotlight Performance: "Somewhere Over The Rainbow" ASL Erika

Spotlight Performance: "Days in the Sun" Porter, Afton, Ian, Maggie, Emma

Monologues: Emma, Sadie, Seth


August 15th 9:00-12:30

Company Performance: Stick to the Status Quo

Spotlight Performance: “Middle of the Moment” Seth Barton

Monologues: Afton, Emily

 

The August dates are three Saturdays in a row. That would shorten our time to learn songs. Please provide insight to what you think could be done to ensure you have ample time to learn your pieces. Some options I can think of are lengthening rehearsals by 30 minutes (6:30-9:00) in order to teach more, have longer filming times in order to film more in one day and skip one of the filming days, or maybe even cutting out a number. None of those options are set in stone, and may not even be plausible, but please let us know what would be beneficial to you. But if you are fine with those dates, lets stick with them and work hard to learn everything, because I know you guys can do it. I would prefer to just stick with those dates.

 

Next, I would like to talk about the 23rd of July. Sarah, Ivan, and I will all be gone that Thursday on a trip. We know that is the day before Pioneer Day so we want to leave it up to you whether we have rehearsal or not. We would like to have a piano player come in that day and practice with you guys on all of your upcoming pieces, which I feel would be very valuable for each of you who don't have that option at home. Let us know if you guys would like to do that, or if you would rather just cancel rehearsal that day.

 

I realize that some of you have not gotten the time that you needed with me, Sarah, or Ivan to work on your small pieces, or you're maybe having trouble with choreography. If this is you please let me know! I would like to find a time, outside of company rehearsals to work with each Spotlight Piece. Please contact me with you availability. If you are in "Beyond My Wildest Dreams", I would like to work with you Tuesday Night at 7:00. Please Let me know!

 

It has also come to my attention that although this is not technically a "theatre class" and more of a performing class, I do want to teach you guys more than just learning choreography in 2 hours. I have compiled a list of characterization questions that I would like filled out by each person for each piece that they perform. These will be all put on the website and filled out electronically. I hope they will help you learn more about characterization. I would like these turned in by the Wednesday after we record the piece. Please don't procrastinate. Regarding the pieces that we have already recorded, yes there are still characterization questions for them. Have them done by this Wednesday, July 8th. They can be found under the tab labeled "Company".

 

Goodness, that was a lot to unfold. Please let me know if you have any questions about the above information. Lastly, I promised you guys that I would say one nice thing about you so here it goes!


Afton: I admire how hard you are working, you are such an outstanding person and it does not go unnoticed.


Emily: You are a beacon of light whenever you step on the stage. BE CONFIDENT!


Emma: Holy cow you're magnificent. Never slacking, always 100%. A powerful actres.


Erika: You always impress me, whenever I think your're out of surprises POW here you come. Keep it up.


Ian: You always try so hard, I admire your confidence and ambition. Thanks for being such a stunning example.


Maggie: You are one firecracker of talent. One trick pony, more like.... uh.... lots of tricks pony?!


Porter: Porter, you're so freaking awesome. Don't forget it, keeping working hard.


Sadie: You always give it your all, I'm so proud of all the work you put in.


Sariah: You are such a star, honestly you are going places, keep flapping your wings and you'll soar high.


Seth: You always make me smile Seth, you know you're a star, keeping putting in the work and you will keep on improving. You're a joy to have around.


You all are loved, you're all admired. I know with everything going on in this world sometimes we all forget that. But no matter what, you have me. I love you guys, thanks for always giving me something to look forward to.


Happy 4th of July

-Colton


Once you read this please send me some sort of picture, message, or give me a phone call to make me laugh.







83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page